The other day I was talking to a co-worker and all of a sudden my mouth filled with the aroma of buttered green beans. It was the oddest thing, and it wouldn’t go away for the rest of the day. Fortunately, it was nearing the end of the work day.

Now I don’t claim to cook on a regular basis, but generally Eric and I have some sort of understanding that one or the other of us will provide dinner for the both of us, in some form or fashion. He does cook (in fact better than me in most cases) but his preferred provision mechanism is pizza or some sort of takeout. Many days, though, I’ll cook something, or we’ll at least figure out what we’re doing together.

Well not that day, that day I arrived home, ran upstairs, dumped a can of green beans in a dish, dropped a piece of butter on top and nuked those babies up. Then I casually took my buttered green beans into the living room and sat there eating them in front of the TV without comment.

He had heard me blab about my buttered green beans on the phone while I was driving home, so his only remark was, “how are your buttered green beans?”

I guess that would count as a craving. I don’t honestly remember what else I ate, or what Eric managed to find for himself. I had one other similar experience where I came home rather late at night after Bible study, and Eric was heating himself up some breadsticks. Somehow the smell to me was of pizza rolls, and that’s what I immediately desired to have. Unfortunately, he wasn’t heating up pizza rolls, nor did we have any in the house. I demanded pizza rolls and he thought I was amusing.

I did find Bagel Bites in the freezer, which sufficed but weren’t pizza rolls. So I ate my Bagel Bites at 10:00 at night on a week night.

I’ve also found myself doing odd and spastic things. For example, I have a fairly routine routine in the mornings and evenings, which involves the usual, brushing teeth, washing face, taking out contacts, etc. I’m not sure what part of the routine involves throwing something, but one night I was going to take my contacts out and I unscrewed the lid of the case and threw it in the sink. As it rolled around in the basin I wondered, “why did I do that?”

