Ok so this is a day late, but yay for me!

I really didn’t know if Eric would acknowledge Mother’s Day for me or not, but we did in fact go up to Lowe’s and pick out stones to make a wall for a raised flower bed that I’ve been asking for, which, after checking out, was summarized with, “Happy Mother’s Day.” 🙂 I think a stone wall will substitute for flowers or chocolates easily. I’ve been dying to have a vegetable garden where I can grow my own happy healthy stuff, and while this was only the first step, it was probably the most expensive.

So now I just have to wait until he picks the stones up, levels the ground, lays the stones, fills it with dirt, and then I’ll have my garden! In like.. a year! 😀

Then Eric’s part will be done and it will be up to me to actually grow something, but hopefully he can help me with the keeping-critters-at-bay part. I have a really hard time with that. I tried planting a mini garden in a tiny flower bed a couple years ago, and every time something started to bloom and looked like I was going to have some awesome veggie… it disappeared. All the little green tomatoes, gone. All the pale green strawberries on the cusp of turning a beautiful shade of red, gone. All of the big yellow squash flowers starting to grow into tiny little squashes, gone.

In fact, all of the Tulips, gone. All of the purple Hosta flowers, gone. The expensive Stargazer Lilies, gone down to the bulb.

The yard is filled to the brim with bunnies, chipmunks, squirrels, birds, a shrew, and I’m pretty sure deer come through there when we’re not looking because some of the things that have been eaten were pretty high up.. I bet raccoons too.. we used to see raccoons running across our yard to our neighbor’s house before they moved in and evicted the unwanted house guests.

So my issue lies with wanting both. I want to grow things, but I also want to look into the great outdoors and see all the wildlife from the comfort of my dining room window. How do I get the best of both worlds?

I tried the chicken wire fence and things just dug under it. Hopefully this raised bed will offer more protection. I’ll have to get Eric to make it as critter-proof as possible.

I want to be able to share with them, but not just feed them all. Like maybe I tithe a 10th of my harvest to them for good will, but I get the bulk of it 🙂

On another note, here is the belly. It’s so big. Sometimes I think Eric forgets I’m pregnant until he watches his beloved beached whale struggling to sit upright. Yesterday he took a good long look at me, was quiet for a second, then said, “it’s really big.”

My belly button is still an inny, but barely exists anymore. If I were a car, my spare tire would have extremely low tread, based on how much of my finger still fits in my belly button. Isn’t that a beautiful analogy?

30Weeks

