Babies are gross. Stuff’s always leaking out of somewhere, and they have no shame in how loud their farts are. And they’re actually expected to make audible burps at the end of each meal – no wonder its hard to train etiquette later.

But they’re so forgivable…

So it’s mostly true what they say about not being grossed out by your own baby. All of a sudden poop isn’t so gross, and I suppose is instead a thing to be celebrated. Actually, Aria’s poop smells sweet.. No not like roses.. like buttermilk or something. That’s not the adoring mother claiming a perfect child speaking, it’s actually a noted attribute of breastfed babies: baby poop

Do you have any idea how many websites there are dedicated to baby poop?

So yeah, her poop doesn’t gross me out, except when I’m swapping out diapers with her feet held up and she projectile poops onto everything. That’s kinda gross.

I’ve also been peed on in a similar manner, but realize I can’t complain as it’s rare and nothing compared to boy babies.

She also likes to pull away mid-nursing and spew/fling milk slobber everywhere. It’s messy, but doesn’t gross me out.

And of course her spit-ups, which never seem to happen when I’m actually burping her and am prepared with a cloth. Rather, one time she did do it when I was prepared but she had managed to wiggle herself all the way across my chest and spat up over my arm and onto the bed sheets below. That was pleasant.

Lastly, other, less expected juices. Like from the belly button. Oh and even her boogers don’t gross me out.

Something is wrong with me.

