I was perusing baby websites to see what milestones I should be watching for and a comment caught my eye. They said that they felt their little one finally seemed to be transforming from infant to baby.

I guess the same could be said for Aria. She’s been able to hold her head up since week one, but it’s getting more frequent and stable and less wobbly. She can also push herself up on her forearms for a bit.

Regarding cooing and making noises, she has made dolphin noises for as long as I can remember. I want to say she’s been “ulg”ing, “ack”ing, and “nga”ing for the last two or three weeks. I’m still not sure where baby noises fall on the timeline, because some moms were saying their babies were just finding their voices at six weeks.. But I guess Aria found hers a while back. She talks a lot when she’s happy. Also squeals.. But that’s usually a precursor to fussy. It’s like a yellow light or warning sign – warning, we’re approaching fussy-town if we don’t change courses soon!

She loves to hold fingers, and when an object is placed into an open palm she’ll grasp it but otherwise doesn’t much interact with objects… unless you count holding her pacifier in her mouth.

However, most importantly, she started smiling at her own thoughts a couple weeks ago, but over this last week started trying to smile at Eric and me. It’s sooooo cute!

