I’ve become rather accustomed to folks cooing over, complimenting, congratulating us on, and even seeking out our baby in stores – this has happened several times now when we’re doing fine shopping then all of a sudden she gets tired/cranky/poopy-pantsed/hungry and starts wailing and we have to expedite the shopping adventure, and someone will find us and say, “I knew I heard a newborn! I told (whoever they are with) that I heard a newborn and said ‘I have to find that baby!'” This is often followed with, when they are with their nearly full-grown daughter, “Can you believe you used to be that tiny??” It usually is quite impressive to imagine the robust person before me as a tiny little baby, but I suppose it was the case at one point in everyone’s life.

People love babies. Like really love babies. I’ve been asked about her, told how precious she is, and congratulated so much that I’m starting to feel pretty darn special and like Aria is a celebrity or somesuch.

However, the most interesting encounter I’ve had thus far was from an older, rough-looking gentleman who accosted me in a grocery store. He was incredibly difficult to understand, almost like he had marbles in his mouth. He asked, “boy or girl?” I replied she was a girl, which was hard to tell because she was in a bright pink outfit with a pink blanket on her lap. He said something unintelligible and I said, “I’m sorry?” He repeated and I got the gist was that she needed some “herrboos in her har so’s you cud tell.” I said, “Oh, yeah I ordered some headbands but they haven’t arrived yet.” He mumbled something, I looked at him blankly, he mumbled it again, louder this time, and I continued to stare at him slack-jawed because I hadn’t a clue what he was saying.

Finally he said a few times, “bubblegum! bubblegum! Y’know, jus’ stick at in ‘er har an’ stick a boo on it.”

Oh. Of course, why hadn’t I thought of that? I chuckled politely and calmly said, “but then it would stick in the poor baby’s hair..”

He brushed that off with “mos’ babies ain’t got no harr.” No.. but mine does and I’m not sure I’m ready to subject her to the whole cliche of beauty requires pain.

We started to walk away from each other but he had one other light bulb go off before we got too far apart, something about “well then toothpaste.”

(This incident is what led me to safety-pinning a bow onto her hat before we went out again)

BabyHat

