It’s crazy how she already applies different roles to us. I mean, I realize that I’m the mommy and so am/have the food, but there are things she will do with one of us an not the other.

Prime example:

If I am holding her, she either wants to be nursing, attempting to sit or stand up, playing a game, or I have to be standing and carrying her around while doing stuff or singing her to sleep with her head on my shoulder. She’s squirmy. She has to be moving or sleeping (or pseudo-sleeping while nursing). On or off. That’s it.

With daddy it’s another story. She’s willing to snuggle with him and just hang out. I’ve come home to find them lounging on the couch, just chillin’ or they’ll both be laying on their side on the couch and she’s perfectly content to just lay there with him, wide awake. She won’t do that with me! I’ve tried, believe me, to just cuddle with her, but she gets bored with it quickly and wants to play, not sit.

Even this morning, I let her nurse in bed with us for awhile but then it was getting really late so I had to get up before she fell back asleep and she was completely uncool with me leaving her behind. She whimpered for a little bit (new thing, whimpering like a puppy) and watched me get ready. Eric was lying there still but she was ignoring him, and continued to until I left.

Then I received texts with pictures of them cuddled up in bed, happy as a clam.  *mutter mutter*

Eric said she actually rolled over twice to get near him: she rolled onto her belly then continued on until she was up against him, with her head resting on his arm.

Sooo… not only will she cuddle with him but she’ll also roll completely over TWICE for him. *mutter mutter*

But I know that I’m the comforting one. We went to the train show this weekend and Eric’s dad, brother and sister-in-law and their kid were all there too. Crystal was carrying Aria around so Eric and I wandered off and at some point we were told our baby was crying hysterically so we found Crystal and Aria was searching the room with her eyes, and they locked on me when she saw me and she reached out for me. Poor little baby, I think it was just a little overwhelming with so many people and so many noises and stuff. I held her and she sobbed into my shoulder for a few minutes; I rocked back and forth and hummed a little to her and she calmed down and eventually just fell asleep. It’s nice to know I’m soothing to my little punkin.

I just hope as she grows she continues to think of me as fun, too, and not just the one to run crying to. I actually hope that we can get the giggles together like Kristy and mom and I did when we were little.

IMG95201401209508255495507

