It’s official, I brought into this world not a little girl, but a little monkey. She is bound and determined to send herself to the hospital, I think.

She is always putting that knee up on toys/furniture/random objects to see if she can get herself up onto said object, and she decided to try climbing the stairs before she was even very good at crawling.

Her favorite places to perch are:

On the step that wraps around the outside of the banister
image

image

and in her tub, car seat, laundry basket or under the coffee table, and on top of toys, even if not very high, there must still be a thrill in any elevation or the climbing experience
image

image

And on top of any person that irrationally decides to lay themselves down on the floor and be converted into a jungle gym.

I’m sure there would be more spots if there were others available in her play areas.

Ok, so I may have contributed to her confidence boost which has set her off on a mad climbing rampage…. but she started it. I bought her an outside toy with a climbing side and a slide and I think it was the fourth or fifth time that we practiced climbing it that she needed no help from me at all and discovered her confidence. So now I’ve unleashed a monster.

The jumper was the first discovery of her ability to master a bigger challenge… I watched it happen firsthand (twice)!

and my disassembling only drew more attention to it… funny how she couldn’t stand being put in it anymore but now all of a sudden it’s desirable again.
image

She also learned that objects that are higher than her waist are master-able, and at the same time I think she started to lose her fear of heights. I had to talk her down on this one.. I made her sit and learn how to get down one leg at a time and not think that she could just face-dive off.
image
image

 

It’s all she wants to do anymore. Eric called me at work to tell me she’d figured out how to climb on top of the ottoman, and had already fallen off twice, cried about it, then when he asked her if she’d learned her lesson and she smiled as she climbed right back up again.
image

