I knew it would happen once summer started and Eric was home all the time… and sure enough…

Aria LOVES her daddy. On my work from home days she’ll come to me when she’s hungry or ready to be put down for her nap (she would never admit she’s tired or wants a nap, but she knows she wants something and she’s cranky and wants me to hold her.. and when we leave the room she waves bye-bye to daddy… it’s just all sub-conscious I guess), but any time she wants to play or whatever she runs to daddy.

She gets really mad at him if he leaves the room, and she’s not always sure where he went so she’ll stand by the study door and peek through the baby gate, and sometimes rattle it, or at the foot of the stairs and yell up them, or toddle into the kitchenette and bang on the restroom door looking for him. I try to convince her he’s not in wherever-she’s-convinced-he-is but she doesn’t believe me until he miraculously appears from somewhere-not-there.

Then she gets a ginormous grin and runs over to him with her hands held high above her head, flapping in the wind as she toddles as fast as her chubby little legs will go.

And he’s just as enamored with her. He looooves it when she gets excited to see him; he gets a big grin and talks softly and sweetly at her and bends down and scoops her up. *heart melt*

He’s also just as bad as she is. We started buying her birthday presents and half of them are already opened. He can’t help himself.

“What’s that, you want a ball to play with? Ooops… your new Disney princess ball just accidentally fell out of its packaging..”

Then I’ll tell him, “Eric! We have to re-wrap that so she can tear the paper off….. when she’s done playing with it… she’s not going to be done playing with it for awhile, is she… ?”

Another time I heard a whole lot of noise from the other room and an “Oops”. When I walked in parts were everywhere. Again, “Eric!” .. “I had to make sure all of the pieces were here. Here, help me put this together.” Which I did.

She also has no less than three chairs in the living room now. A week ago she had none that were her size so she would settle herself in her car seat or in her toy box. So not only did Eric order a little folding chair, but we also had to pick up a hard plastic lawn chair while we were out. And around the same time his parents finally gave us the re-upholstered kiddie chair that was his when he was a child that they were so excited to fix up and give to their granddaughter. So she has her pick of roosting spots now. The folding chair was supposed to be a birthday present.. but c’est la vie.

I managed to put the few other things we got her away so they can’t accidentally be given to her. I really want her to be able to unwrap something. It’s funny but one of the things I’m really excited about and would love to give her now instead of waiting, is a little beginner band set that we got from Pampers for buying diapers for a whole year. It’s got a little xylophone, a kazoo, some shakers .. I forget what else, but the point being, I didn’t even buy it and I’m holding on to it for a present because I have self control. So there. 🙂

But yeah, their relationship has really blossomed. And I’m not jealous! I’m just so excited to see how much Eric loves/adores/enjoys her. Even when he’s busy, if she demands his attention he’ll stop what he’s doing and give her some attention and affection. And he smiles when she does something cute, or he’ll call me into the room if I’m not there with, “Lisa! Come here.. quietly..” so that I can witness whatever mischief she’s up to or even whatever mundane thing she’s doing that he thinks is cute. I’m totally ok with him making me stop to come enjoy my child with him so we can share a secret smile as we watch her be Aria. 🙂

