My pretty, precious little girl is devilishly deceitful. Adorably astute. Cleverly cute. Maddeningly manipulative.

Anyway, she gets these reports from daycare that come home each day that list things like what she ate and how much, if she used the potty, diaper changes, etc. At the bottom the teacher puts stickers and always writes “clean up stickers” so that the parents know if and how many times they helped clean up. Aria always gets clean up stickers because she enjoys cleaning up (note: at daycare; NOT at home unless there’s a huge song and dance number that accompanies the process).

The other day I was working from home so walked down to the daycare to pick her up. Eric was there when we arrived at home and as we were headed in I was perusing her report and noticed there were no stickers! I made an offhand comment to her about not getting any stickers today and she took it from me and said, “I got clean up stickers!” to which I replied “… mmnnoo you didn’t..”

She took it and ran inside to show Eric. “Daddy! I got clean up stickers!”

Her joyful enthusiasm spilled over to him, “You did?!!”

Mommy’s willful determination to squash all bubbles and rainbows, “no she didn’t. She’s lying to you.”

Daddy’s hesitation, “you didn’t get clean up stickers Aria?”

She grabs the paper from him, runs in the other room and I find her sitting in the middle of the kitchen putting her OWN stickers on where the teacher would have put them. She then takes the paper back to Eric.

“Daddy, I got clean up stickers!!”

Eric looks at me with the same look I’m feeling.

Our two year old is already forging report cards!!!!

Legit stickers:20160414_174646.jpg

Forged stickers:
image

PS I told the teacher about this experience the next day (who found it utterly amusing), and when Aria did earn stickers and the teacher put them on her paper Aria said, “I got Real clean up stickers!”

Wow.

